ABOUT SALAAM MUMBAI FOUNDATION

Salaam Mumbai Foundation is the rural outreach programme of the Salaam Bombay Foundation started in 2007 to create a tobacco-free Maharashtra. The primary objective is to increase awareness of the health hazards of tobacco use and reduce consumption rates across the state.

In order to create meaningful impact in rural communities on a large scale, Salaam Mumbai Foundation has harnessed the capacity of state and local institutions, both government and non-government.

These include Zilla Parishad schools, village health workers, aanganwadi and other public health workers appointed by the state government, gram panchayats, local NGOs, block and district level education officers and other local influencers. First level of interaction is with the ‘Master Trainers’ who are government appointees. They in turn train school teachers on the tobacco issue and the curriculum to be taught in school. Salaam Mumbai Foundation works on the “Train the Trainer” module – trainers being local influencers - to enhance local participation and ownership and to build sustainability of the programme in rural Maharashtra.

Our Reach:

BOARD MEMBERS

Each individual board member plays a crucial role in the Foundation'sactivities and is committed towards achieving the organization’s goals. They meet once in 3

months, interact with project heads and are apprised on the progress of various rural initiatives.

MS. PEARL TIWARI

Director, Ambuja Cement Foundation

DR. NARAYAN JAIRAM RATHOD

Director, Ambuja Cement Foundation

MR. BALKUMAR AGARWAL

Rtd.Additional Chief Secretary,Government of Maharashtra

MS. DEVIKA CHADHA

Vice President, Operations, Salaam Bombay Foundation

MS. RAJESHREE KADAM

General Manager,Salaam Bombay Foundation

TEAM MEMBERS

Salaam Mumbai Foundation's dynamic team is made up of 92 committed individuals, with a collective experience of more than 100 years. Together they bring to the organization expertise in child development, counseling, education and project execution. Each individual plays a crucial role in the Foundation's activities. The teams have good communication skills and in-depth knowledge of rural perspectives. Most staff are M.SWs, many have a D.Ed/B.Ed qualification.

1. Mrs.Rajashree Kadam, Vice President Tobacco Control

rajashree@salaambombay.org

2. Mr.Deepak Patil, Asst.General Manager

deepak.patil@salaambombay.org

3. Mr.Ajay Pilankar, Sr.Project Manager

ajay@salaambombay.org

4. Mr.Dipesh Thakker, Sr.Project Co-ordinator

dipesh.thakker@salaammumbai.org

5. Mr.Nirzar Barve, Project Co-ordinator

nirzar.barve@salaammumbai.org

6. Mr.Vivek Vable, Project Co-ordinator

vivek.vable@salaammumbai.org

7. Mr.Aadesh Nandvikar, Project Co-oridnator

aadesh.nandvikar@salaammumbai.org

8. Mr.Nana Dhawshe, Project Co-ordinator

nana.dhawshe@salaambombay.org

9. Mr.Sanjay Thange, Project Co-ordinator

sanjay.thange@salaammumbai.org

Our Supporters:

Everest Foundation

Bajaj Electricals Ltd

Ambuja Cement Foundation

Yashwantrao Chavan Pratishthan

Narotam Sekhsaria Foundation

ACC Cement Ltd.

Rajaram Bapu Gyan Prabodhini

Chetna Empowerment Foundation

Lokvikas Samajik Sanstha

Vanni Sansthan

Bhoj Shodh Sansthan

Chetna India